Natural colored light displays which are observed in the night sky in the polar zones are called as Aurora or Aurorae in plural. They are one of the seven natural wonders of the world. These are called as Northern Lights or aurora borealis in the north hemisphere and Southern Lights or aurora australis in the southern hemisphere. 

This is a natural phenomenon which occurs near the poles and most often occurs from September to October and March to April. It was Benjamin Franklin who for the first time brought attention to this phenomenon.

The aurora appears usually as a diffused glow or as curtains extending in east-west direction. Sometimes “quiet arcs” are formed whereas “active arcs” are also formed which evolve and change constantly. The curtains of the lights are lined up as parallel rays which suggest that they are shaped by the Earth’s magnetic field.  

Auroras are produced when the charged particles from the magnetosphere of the Earth collide with the atoms and molecules which are present at altitudes 80 km above the earth. These collisions lead to the excitation of atoms and molecules in the upper atmosphere. Light emissions occur when the excitation energy of these atoms is lost and thus gives rise to the natural light emissions. Most aurorae which are seen are green and red emissions from atmospheric oxygen depending upon their energy levels.

Worldwide Premium Hotels
Europe Hotels
USA Hotels
South America Hotels
Central America Hotels
Africa Hotels
Asia Hotels
Caribbean Hotels
Australia Hotels
Canada Hotels
New Seven Wonders of World
Great Wall of China
Petra in Jordan
Christ the Redeemer
Machu Picchu
Chichen Itza Pyramid
Colosseum in Rome
Taj Mahal
Natural Travel Wonders
Serengeti Migration
Galápagos Islands
Grand Canyon
Iguazu Falls
Amazon Rainforest
Ngorongoro Crater
Great Barrier Reef
Victoria Falls
Bora Bora
Wonders of Modern World
Golden Gate Bridge
CN Tower
Empire State Building
Itaipu Dam
Delta Works
Panama Canal
Channel Tunnel
Natural Wonders of World
Grand Canyon
Great Barrier Reef
Harbor of Rio de Janeiro
Mount Everest
Parícutin volcano
Victoria Falls
Wonders of Industrial World
SS Great Eastern
Bell Rock Lighthouse
Brooklyn Bridge
London sewerage system
First Transcontinental Railroad
Panama Canal
Hoover Dam
Wonders of Underwater World
Belize Barrier Reef
Great Barrier Reef
Deep-Sea Vents
Galápagos Islands
Lake Baikal
Northern Red Sea
Man-made Travel Wonders
Giza pyramid complex
Great Wall of China
Taj Mahal
Machu Picchu
Angkor Wat
Forbidden City
Bagan Temples & Pagodas
Karnak Temple
USA Today's New Seven Wonders
Potala Palace
Old City of Jerusalem
Polar ice caps
Papahānaumokuākea Marine
Mayan ruins
Mig of Serengeti & Masai Mara
Grand Canyon

Other Natural Wonders of the World

Grand Canyon

The Grand Canyon offers an awe inspiring view and is surely more than a chasm carved through rocks of the Colorado River. For this mind boggling river, Grand would be an underestimation. It is 446 km long, 29 km wide and 1600 m deep. read more...

Great Barrier Reef

One of the most important Underwater Wonders of the World, the Great Barrier Reef is a 2000 km long coral reef system which is the largest in the world. It can even be seen from outer space.
read more... Harbor of Rio de Janeiro

The Portuguese explorers in the early 16th century, who navigated up to the Brazilian coastline kept a record of their discoveries, as well as the days of the year, by designating the former for the latter. read more...

Mount Everest

Mount Everest, also called Chomolungma or Qomolangma in Tibetan or Sagarmatha in Nepali is the premier mountain on Earth, as calculated by the height of its peak above sea level, comes to 8,848 m or 29,028 ft. read more...

Parícutin volcano

The Parícutin is a cinder cone volcano which exists in the state of Michoacan in Mexico. It lies close to a village which has the same name. This volcano is one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. read more...

Victoria Falls

Victoria Falls are located in Africa between the countries Zambia and Zimbabwe and are a major tourist attraction of Africa. This is one of the Natural Wonders of the World and also is a UNESCO World Heritage site. read more...


Wonders of The Other Worlds

Great Pyramid of Giza

The Great Pyramid of Giza, Khufu's Pyramid or the Pyramid of Khufu, and Pyramid of Cheops, are the different names to refer to the largest and oldest of the three pyramids in the Giza Necropolis that borders Cairo, Egypt (Africa).

Konark - Sun Temple

Konark also known as Konaditya is one of the most popular tourist destinations of Konark and Orissa. This magnificent temple exhibits the marvel of the architects, who envisioned and constructed it. . The name of this famous temple is derived from the term Kona, which means corner and ark means Sun. read more...

Shanghai World Financial Center

Shanghai World Financial Center is the third- tallest building of the world. It is 492 m high and 101 storey building and cost a total of 125 billion yen, as per president of Mori Building Co. Ltd, who was one of the major investor in the project. read more...

One Hundred Trees Oasis

The place where the Gobi Desert begins is an area where at an oasis, the herders and travellers can get some food and water and a place to stay. This place or area is called One Hundred Trees Oasis. read more...

Wonders of The World
Wonders of Medieval World
The Colosseum in Rome
The Great Wall of China
Taj Mahal
Wonders of Ancient World
Great Pyramid of Giza
Asian Wonders   African Wonders   European Wonders
Oceania's Wonders   North American Wonders   South American Wonders